We have detected you are using an outdated browser.

Kindly upgrade your version of Internet Explorer or use another browser like Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

Governance /

Strathmore University is a fully fledged university with a Vice Chancellor, three Deputy Vice Chancellors, the University Secretary, a number of senior management staff, the University Council, the Management Board, the Academic Council, and various committees.

Strathmore Educational Trust, Registered Trustees

Dr. Caesar MwangiChairman
Mr Matthew NjoguMember
Mr Andrew OleaMember
Mr Fernando AizpunMember
Mr Maurice D’SouzaMember
Mr Charles KanjamaAdministrator


Monsignor Fernando Ocáriz Braña


Monsignor Fernando Ocáriz Braña is the Chancellor of Strathmore University as prescribed by Section 10 of the Strathmore University Charter. He was born in Paris in 1944 and studied Physical Sciences at the University of Barcelona. He graduated in Theology from the Pontifical Lateran University in 1969 and obtained his PhD from the University of Navarra in 1971. That same year he was ordained a priest.

He is the author of numerous philosophical and theological works such as The Mystery of Jesus Christ (Theology Textbooks, 1998) and God as Father: In the Message of Blessed Josemaria Escriva (1998) among othersHe has also been a consultant to the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith since 1986 and a member of the Pontifical Roman Theological Academy since 1989.

Legal Status

On April 23rd 2008, His Excellency Mwai Kibaki, President of the Republic of Kenya granted a Charter to Strathmore University. The Charter provides for the establishment, control, governance, and administration of the university and for connected purposes, in the manner prescribed by the Universities Act (Chapter 210b, Laws of Kenya).

Strathmore University is sponsored by Strathmore Educational Registered Trustees (SERT), a non-profit body corporate with perpetual succession, established under the Trustee (Perpetual Succession) Act (Chapter 164 of the Revised Laws of Kenya 1962 edition).

Legal Instruments

University Council

The University Council is a body established by the Trustees to govern the University and assist in promoting its foundational and educational aims. The membership of the University Council is prescribed and legally established by Article 13 of Part III of the Strathmore University Charter (Legal Notice No. 86 of the 23rd June 2008).

Bernadette Musundi
Dr. Caesar Mwangi
Deputy Chairperson
Professor John Odhiambo
Dr. Elizabeth Gachenga
Ex-officio Member
Mr. Fernando Aizpun
Prof. Izael Pereira Da Silva
Ex-officio Member
Dr. Susan Kibue
Prof. Timothy Waema MemberMr. David Owino Member
Mr. Anthony Kahindi Ex-Officio MemberChristine Ochieng MemberDr. Vincent Ogutu Ex-Officio Member
Dr. Edward Mungai Ex-Officio MemberMs. Margaret Osure Member


Management Board
Vice-ChancellorProf. John Odhiambo
Vice Chancellor DesignateDr. Vincent Ogutu
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic& Students Affairs)Dr. Elizabeth Gachenga
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)Prof. Izael Da Silva
Deputy Vice-Chancellor(Planning and Development)Dr. Edward Mungai
University SecretaryMr. Anthony Kahindi
Executive Director, Administration ServicesMs. Dorina Telaide
Director, University Relations & Communications OfficeMrs. Betty Ngala
Executive Director, FinanceMr. Vincent Ndoloka
Deans and Directors
Dean, Strathmore Business SchoolDr. George Njenga
Dean, Faculty of Information TechnologyDr. Joseph Orero
Acting Dean, Strathmore Law SchoolProf. Francisco B. Lopez-Jurado
Dean, School of Humanities & Social SciencesDr. Magdalene Dimba
Dean, School of Graduate StudiesProf. Ruth Kiraka
Dean of StudentsMr. Paul Ochieng
Ag. Director, Advancement & External RelationsMr. Eric Saulo
Principal, Strathmore Institute of Management and TechnologyVacant
Executive Director, People and CultureMrs. Anna Makomu-Njuguna
Dean, School Tourism and Hospitality (STH)Dr. David Chiawo
Director, Admissions ServicesMr. Marcos Migeri
Director, Institute of Public Policy and GovernanceAssociate Prof. Robert Mudida
Director, Information & Communication Technology DepartmentMr. Martin Njogu
Director, University Health ServicesMrs. Harriet Koyoson
Director, Security ServicesBrg. Joseph Mweu
Executive Director, Strathmore University FoundationMr. James Kimeu
University LibrarianMr. Bernard Shiundu
Translate »